Bns Daily

Latest news

The top 5 most successful batsmen from the T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup is the pinnacle of Twenty20 International cricket. Ever since the first edition in 2007, the tournament has produced some captivating batting performances and thrilling run chases. With the batsmen going hell for leather from ball one, big scores and individual tons have become par for the course.

According to the icc world cup news today, The shortest format of the game requires tremendous skill and power from the batsmen. They need to assess conditions quickly, get their eye in, and then launch a fierce attack. T20 allows the willow wielders to play a wide range of exhilarating shots as they take risks and up the scoring rate. This has led to some breathtaking knocks and record-breaking feats over the years.

Let’s take a look at the 5 most prolific run scorers in T20 World Cup history:

  • Virat Kohli – 1065 runs

He has continuously held a position in the middle of the Indian batting order during competitions since making his debut in 2010.

This right-handed batter has been India’s main batting option in championship games for the last ten years. Kohli has accrued a significant number of runs throughout this time while maintaining a terrific average of 88.75 and a stunning strike rate of 134.64. Among his successes include a historic 82* not out versus Australia in the 2016 competition, as well as a total of 11 half-century scores.

Unquestionably one of the greatest T20I hitters in history, Kohli shows adaptability in a variety of game settings while regularly putting out stellar performances. Given his unfailing dependability and voracious desire for runs, it is quite probable that he will secure the title of the tournament’s leading run-scorer before his cricket career comes to an end.

  • Mahela Jayawardene – 1016 runs 

Mahela Jayawardene, a former captain of Sri Lanka, ranks second on the elite list with 1016 runs. Jayawardene was a talented batsman who loved a T20 format and led the way for Sri Lanka in the early World Cups.   

Jayawardene participated in his maiden T20 World Cup in 2009, and his performance there helped Sri Lanka finish as the competition’s runner-up. With 299 runs overall, he leads the run statistics for his country. Jayawardene notably hit a stunning 100 in the semifinal game against the West Indies and was voted Man of the Match.  

In 2012, the stylish right-hander continued his stellar form when he amassed 223 runs with one century at an average of 55.75. Jayawardene’s composure and versatility to adapt to the game’s situations stand out as the qualities behind his phenomenal T20I record.

  • Chris Gayle – 1016 runs

The Universe Boss Chris Gayle is tied with Jayawardene at 1016 runs in the T20 World Cup. The big-hitting West Indian batsman has been one of the most destructive openers in the history of the format. 

Gayle has the ability to take any bowling attack apart with his power-hitting. In 31 World Cup innings, Gayle has notched up 2 centuries and 9 fifties at a strike-rate of 138.71. His record-breaking 117 against South Africa in the inaugural edition kickstarted his love affair with T20 cricket. 

Gayle was also instrumental in the West Indies’ memorable victories in the 2012 and 2016 editions. He was adjudged Man of the Tournament in 2012 for aggregating 258 runs in 5 innings. The southpaw’s explosiveness at the top will go down as one of T20 cricket’s greatest gifts.

  • Rohit Sharma – 904 runs

The swashbuckling Indian opener Rohit Sharma has carved out a special place in T20 World Cup folklore. With 904 runs, ‘The Hitman’ sits fourth on the tournament’s all-time run scoring charts. But beyond the numbers, Sharma’s flair and grace have lit up the World Cup stage.

Sharma holds the unique record of being the only player to smash four centuries in T20 World Cup history. His 118 against Sri Lanka in 2014 remains the highest individual score. Rohit dazzled in the 2014 and 2018 editions, slamming consecutive tons against South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Pakistan.

When in full flow, Sharma is a sight to behold. His effortless strokeplay and clean hitting make him a formidable match-winner. Since his debut in 2007, Rohit has been an integral part of India’s T20 World Cup campaigns. His runs and style provide excitement and substance to the Indian batting order. Rohit Sharma’s T20 World Cup exploits have cemented his status as one of the modern game’s most captivating batsmen.

  • Martin Guptill – 897 runs 

Rounding off the top 5 is New Zealand’s destructive opener Martin Guptill with 897 runs. The Kiwi star has been a marquee player for his nation since his T20I debut in 2009. 

Martin Guptill of New Zealand, who scored 897 runs, finishes fifth overall. Since making his T20I debut in 2009, the Kiwi superstar has been a standout performer for his country. 

When he smashed an undefeated 237 in the 2015 edition, Guptill ignited the arena and broke the record for the greatest individual score in T20Is. In a dazzling performance against a helpless West Indies bowling outfit, he hit 11 fours and 11 sixes.

The right-hander completed 2021 as the top run-scorer, continuing to torture the opposition. Guptill scored 176 runs with a strike rate of above 132 in 7 games. 

He is a feared opponent due to his accurate ball-striking skills and quick dashing between the wickets. When it comes to New Zealand’s hopes of winning their first T20 World Cup, Guptill is the pivotal player


Over the course of its long 15-year existence, the T20 World Cup has witnessed some genuinely memorable batting performances. The top five run scorers in tournament history include Martin Guptill, Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Mahela Jayawardene. 

Their bat tricks have captivated spectators all over the world and led to many memorable events. The World Cup stage has been illuminated by Kohli’s brilliance and consistency, Jayawardene’s elegant strokeplay, Gayle’s destructive power hitting, Rohit’s artistry, and Guptill’s ball-striking.

As per icc world cup news today live, they will be hard to top in terms of persistent domination and incredible run-scoring performances. With their bats, these batting greats created the look and feel of the T20 World Cup.